The Wisconsin Lemon Law covers you if, within the first year, your vehicle suffers a defect that cannot be repaired by a dealer in four attempts. The law covers cars transferred or registered in the state of Wisconsin. Read on to learn the answers to some common questions about the state’s lemon law.
Does a Problem Have to Happen Four Times?
Not always. If the vehicle is in for repairs for 30 days or more within the first 12 months, whether or not those days are consecutive, it’s possible to file a claim under the lemon law.
What Happens if the Problem Occurs Outside the First 12 Months?
If the problem is ongoing and the vehicle is still covered by the manufacturer’s warranty, there’s still help available according to the Magnuson-Moss Warranty Act. Call today to get an explanation of your legal rights under Federal law.
How Does the Lemon Law Provide Free Representation?
The Wisconsin Lemon Law involves a fee-shifting clause, which means that if the vehicle is not bought back by the manufacturer within 30 days of notice, the manufacturer is required to pay the owner’s legal costs and lawyer fees. This provision puts auto owners on equal footing with billion-dollar automakers.
The Car Has Only Been Owned for a Few Days. Can It be Returned?
Simply put, no. A problem may occur right away, but if you want to open a claim under the Wisconsin Lemon Law, there are protocols to follow. You’ll have to make an appointment to have the vehicle evaluated and fixed, and you’ll have to get an invoice when picking up the vehicle. The invoice must outline all the problems as reported to the dealership’s service manager.
Being stuck with a lemon is frustrating, but we’re here to help. To learn about the state’s lemon law, visit their website or call Lemon Law America to schedule a no-obligation consultation.